Team Award

This award recognises a team of primary professionals in New Zealand, who have advocated and promoted New Zealand’s primary industries and achieved success or developed meaningful outcomes to an issue or problem facing the sector.

The team can consist of multiple people from multiple organisations and must have a minimum of 2 people to be considered a team.

Sponsored by:
Primary ITO


Science & Research Award

This award recognises either an individual or a team of scientists or researchers in New Zealand, who have developed new processes, initiatives or discoveries which will add value to New Zealand’s primary industries. This individual or team need to demonstrate in their nomination how they achieved success or have developed a pathway to success for meaningful outcomes to an issue or problem facing the primary sector. The team can consist of multiple people from multiple organisations and must have a minimum of 3 people to be considered a team.

Sponsored by:


Innovation & Collaboration Project Award

The Innovation & Collaboration Project Award aims to recognise and celebrate the contribution of the professionals that work on primary sector projects – big and small – including producers, scientists, investors, industry bodies, external providers and sector leaders. The collaboration of the whole project team is vital when it comes to producing innovative projects for New Zealand’s primary industries. This award recognises an individual or team of people who have worked on a project designed to make New Zealand agriculture more efficient and effective.

Sponsored by:


Chief Executive Award

This award recognises an outstanding chief executive working in New Zealand’s primary industries. The award winner will be known for boosting staff morale, improving productivity and enhancing retention in their organisation. They are recognised for making positive, changes during their time in the role of CEO, effectively promoting their organisation and enhancing its reputation, along with the reputation of New Zealand’s primary industries.

Sponsored by:


Champion Award

The Primary Industry Champion award is intended to enable the primary industries’ community to recognise the efforts of one of its own. This is an award for the grassroots unsung hero, the genuine ‘good bugger’ who has championed their rural community and their industry. This award will go to an individual who goes beyond their own farm or business, to help others with their own challenges either in times of extreme need or in times of daily necessity.

Sponsored by:


Outstanding Contribution to Primary Industries NZ

This award recognises a New Zealand based individual within the primary sector, who has been considered a leader in their field of work for 20 years or more. The winner of this award consistently supports their local community and champions the needs of fellow colleagues. The winner has experience in spearheading change for the betterment of the sector and is a respected member of their organisation, industry or workplace. They are known to overcome challenges and attain a high level of success and achievement.
Note there are no finalists for this award.

Sponsored by:

Massey Ferguson


PINZ Awards Entry Terms & Conditions 2020

Award categories are independently judged by a team of respected experts.

  • Please prepare your entry with a maximum of 1800 words. You may upload relevant appendices digitally to support your entry up to 5 A4 pages (including photos and news articles)
  • Entries may be transferred to an alternate category if the judges deem it suitable and appropriate.
  • Entries will only be accepted through the PINZ Awards website and not via email or any other channel. Entries will not be accepted after the submission deadline.

All judges' decisions are final, no correspondence will be entered into.
For more information about the awards please contact Nikki Wright -


Copyright © 2020 Conferenz Ltd.